Adventures in Niece-Sitting.

Homegirl begins counting. At ten, I’m like, okay. At twenty, I’m impressed ’cause she’s only four years old. But she keeps going, and we get into a rhythm where she looks to me to chime in with the correct denomination of ten. So after she gets to twenty-nine, thirty-nine and so on, I shout out “Thirty!” and “Forty!” It’s cute, and I’m into it…until about seventy. MERCIFULLY, we get to one hundred. I think this thing is over. But no. “A hundred one, a hundred two, ….” I could do nothing but look on in horror!

About RtG

Rakia the Great, or RtG, is a publishing geek and sometimes literary snob. She's stumbling her way towards personal fulfillment and world domination by, oh, I dunno, writing this blog. Most days she's living her dream as a fancy schmancy editor. But not, like, today.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Niece-Sitting.

  1. Derick says:

    Just gotta keep with it until they tire out… and always say yeaaaa you win!!!

Leave a Reply

