Happy Mother’s Day!

Mom and I, waaay back in the day.

Mom and I, waaay back in the day.

I can’t imagine what Mom must’ve been thinking right here, holding a very little me. I mean, there’s “This child is gorgeous!” But ya know, besides that, she must’ve been terrified, overwhelmed and out of her mind with uncertainty. Throw in a colicky baby — allegedly! — and anyone would crumble. But not my mama.

To this day, if I think about her for more than a few minutes, I get very emotional. I do not always like this because it’s so frickin’ sappy. But this glorious woman is a mother of six, a two-time breast cancer survivor, and a total bad ass. What else is a daughter to do?

On this Mother’s Day, I’m sending a shout-out to all the mommies any and everywhere. But don’t get it twisted. Those World’s Best Mother mugs and keychains and lockets and whathaveyous are all referring to the broad you see right here.

About RtG

Rakia the Great, or RtG, is a publishing geek and sometimes literary snob. She's stumbling her way towards personal fulfillment and world domination by, oh, I dunno, writing this blog. Most days she's living her dream as a fancy schmancy editor. But not, like, today.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Damn sweet satisfied child… looks like someone just got milky and is content to be cuddled by mommy dearest… and mommy appears to be reading your facial expression and paying close attention to your every move… even though its late and she just wants to sleep : ))

Leave a Reply

