The “good hair” issue examined, Chris Rock-style.

You’ll have to pardon my recent blogging slumber. Been busy editing and stuff. But I had to post this. Haircare among black women is not a new topic. But Chris Rock’s new documentary is shedding new — and very humorous — light on it.

About RtG

Rakia the Great, or RtG, is a publishing geek and sometimes literary snob. She's stumbling her way towards personal fulfillment and world domination by, oh, I dunno, writing this blog. Most days she's living her dream as a fancy schmancy editor. But not, like, today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The “good hair” issue examined, Chris Rock-style.

  1. Elisa J says:

    I am aware of this idea of what it means to have “good hair” but I also know how much I appreciate a woman who allows her hair to be natural. The sleek styles might be best for the red carpet, but that’s not everyday life.

    Maybe my perspective is weird because I’ve got long, poker-straight, medium hair (thickness) so I get a little jealous over everyone else who naturally has more body.

    It doesn’t matter who you are though, just about everyone wants something other than what they were born with. 🙂 I’ve got to see this movie.

  2. RtG says:

    The thing is, I don’t have a problem with women getting their hair relaxed or texturized or whatever. I grew up with relaxed hair and went natural when I was 21. I like the versatility of natural hair. I can press it straight; I can twist it and doll it up in quirky updos; or I can rock my natural, messy ‘fro. For whatever mood I’m in or style I favor, I can change my hair to match. I treat it like any other accessory.

    What bothers me is the idea that something is intrinsically unattractive about thick, course hair and that without chemical (and often dangerous) cosmetic procedures, a woman cannot be beautiful.

    It must be noted, too, that a lot of men think similarly. They use hair pomades with wavy-haired men on the can, and they wear do-rags at night to keep every wave in place. And the next day? They carry brushes in their back pockets to maintain their chemically-enhanced waves throughout the day. I’ve seen this. Grown men walking down the street, ferociously brushing the crown of their heads, then slipping their brushes back in their jeans. This is a big issue for black women, but it’s not only about women.

  3. Nat Pat says:

    I just saw the documentary in its entirety. It was quite informative and funny. I’ve personally opted for locks. I looked in the mirror one day while using an at-home kiddie perm to relax my own hair and said to myself, “This is for the birds!” And I stopped the creamy crack cold turkey. I have not relaxed my hair since that day and I have no plans of reverting. But I must say, I love the flexibility between relaxed and natural styles. Both perspectives offer an array of creative choices. Our hairstyles vary much like the hue of our skin. It’s all beautiful! My only gripe with relaxers is the practice of perming the hair of small children. I firmly believe that perming one’s hair should be a decision that is made by the child when they are old enough to understand the full spectrum of such a choice. Nevertheless, I enjoyed “Good Hair” and I hope that people walk away from viewing it feeling a bit more educated, empowered to make a more informed decision even about something as seemingly minute as hair.

Leave a Reply

