The most annoying commercial on television.

If you live in the New York City area, surely you’ve seen this ad for Optimum. It’s been playing nonstop for months, but I hate it more and more with each viewing. The part at 0:45 is particularly dumb. What is that guy wearing? Is he supposed to be some sea creature?

About RtG

Rakia the Great, or RtG, is a publishing geek and sometimes literary snob. She's stumbling her way towards personal fulfillment and world domination by, oh, I dunno, writing this blog. Most days she's living her dream as a fancy schmancy editor. But not, like, today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The most annoying commercial on television.

  1. Chrishawn says:

    Oh my goodness…definitely annoying! I guess we’re not the only culture plagued with commercials that MUST have rap music in it to sell the product. Don’t get me wrong, I like rap music, but what ever happened to a good jingle?

  2. RtG says:

    Exactly! They went overboard with the reggaeton and the mermaids and the dancers and sand castles, etc. This commercial is just too much on every level, imho.

  3. denise says:

    rock! what’s the problem MI GENTE?

    this commercial used to bother me, now i think im numb. as soon as you think it’s about to end another scene pops out…i can only assume the director drops acid

  4. It’s like the Fanta commercials… squared. This is going down in the books as my first reason for *ever* being thankful I live in the western part of the U.S. Yikes.

  5. Yes, I saw this when I visited my aunt in Bklyn. I secretly wondered if I’d inadvertently dropped acid and landed in a really bad reggaeton flashback.

  6. RtG says:

    LOL, Wendy!

  7. RtG says:

    Elisa, the Fanta commercials annoyed me, too. Especially the jingle: “Wanta Fanta? Wanta wanta…”

  8. Talmeedah says:

    Ew.
    Boy am I glad that Philly is spared from this stupid commercial. I feel like my brain has just been assaulted by a three-ring circus of foolishness.
    And sea creature…I dunno. All I know is that costume makes my fingers itch for a tennis ball or something to throw at him.

Leave a Reply

