The Creeps Come Out at Night (USA Today Cover Story)

wor_riesx

Yep, that's me.

Yep, that was me you saw on the cover of USA Today last Friday, March 13, 2009. It’s been an exciting couple of days as a result. Lots of old friends have reached out to wish me well as a freelancer. My family couldn’t be more enthusiastic. And I bought ten copies of the paper for posterity sake.

But — and this is a big but — it hasn’t all been great. Why? Because some of ya’ll are crazy.

Some of ya’ll googled me and found my professional website and this blog, which is great and fun and even a little flattering. But some of ya’ll aren’t interested in doing business with me or simply wishing me well. No, no.  Some of ya’ll are e-mailing me with slick come-ons and phone numbers and offers to call if I’m ever in Miami or Vegas or Indianapolis or wherever.

Let me tell you something. That shit is creepy. Please don’t do that. Please. Just don’t. It scares me. It makes me feel uncomfortable. And I don’t feel flattered by it.

I appreciate those of you who’ve been more subtle by trying to friend me on Facebook. For my own sanity, all of my Facebook friends are my actual friends. (Go figure.) But again, the well wishes are nice, and really, I do appreciate the kind words many of you have sent.

But that’s been tempered so much by all the crazy people that I’ve been a little anxious about stepping outside my own door. I won’t explain what the boldest of the crazy bunch have done (I don’t want to encourage others to repeat those actions). But just know that it was wholly inappropriate and yes, downright scary. So gather yourselves, people. Really. Gather yourselves.

About RtG

Rakia the Great, or RtG, is a publishing geek and sometimes literary snob. She's stumbling her way towards personal fulfillment and world domination by, oh, I dunno, writing this blog. Most days she's living her dream as a fancy schmancy editor. But not, like, today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Creeps Come Out at Night (USA Today Cover Story)

  1. Latifa Boyce says:

    Wow, I am just impressed with how you’ve turned things around for yourself. I, too, have emailed you twice with well wishes, and Googled you to find this blog and your website. Why, because your a role model to me, and an inspiration. So, I will leave you alone and admire your great work from afar. Just know you’ve motivated me and are setting a great example for your crazy “friends” to follow. Great work!

  2. RtG says:

    Oh Latifa, you know I’m not talking about you. Or even others like you. I don’t mind giving advice or helping when I can. Shoot, I sometimes need help too!

    No, this message was for all the knuckleheads out there. And you, my dear, are not a knucklehead.

  3. T.Y. says:

    Wow…I’m so sorry to hear that you’ve been dealing with tomfoolery as a result of sharing your empowering story with us all. That is really messed up, and yes…quite creepy. Extra creepy.

    I think you rock like gym socks for discussing how you’ve dealt with the lay-off and better yet, for unequivocally letting the creeps know to slink back to the shadows from whence they came.

    Slick come-ons and offers to call if you’re ever in town??? Just wow…a new low, indeed.

  4. J. S. says:

    Hi Rakia,

    wow I don’t even know where to start. We met at the Harlem Bookfair and you helped with the sales and signings. I was the first author up that day. (Which day that was, can’t say.)
    Anyway as a new author a familiar face and name is a comfort to say the least I was devastated you were let go. However I’m thrilled to see you have taken on the challenge with gusto. It sucks that a wholly business idea can be taken out of context.
    Jae.

  5. Chloe says:

    Are you wearing a BOOK BAG?

  6. RtG says:

    Yes, I’m wearing a bookbag. AND?!

  7. kaya says:

    lol @ chloe i wasn’t gonna say it

  8. denise says:

    lol @ bookbag…i don’t know how i missed that

  9. RtG says:

    Ya’ll are too easily distracted.

  10. Dang! I’d be utterly freaked out! Continue to be blessed! Good luck with your hard work. -C

  11. Very nice design and wonderful content , practically nothing else we want : D.

Leave a Reply

