Really, New York Public Library?

So I make my way to the famed New York Public Library at 42nd & Fifth in Manhattan, excited about the smell of dusty hardcovers and free wifi, and what do I encounter RIGHT at the door?

I’ll spoil the mystery immediately and admit that it wasn’t the classic, literary respite that I expected. There were no baroque-style statues or slumped, burgundy couches to lounge upon. No, no. Instead, I walked straight into a velvet rope that had Officer Rent-a-Cop standing on the other side of it…like it was Saturday night at Club 112 in Atlanta.

Really, New York Public Library? Is it that serious?

I’m accustomed to getting my bags X-rayed at the airport. I even accept the physical pat-down that sometimes comes along with it. But at the library, this totally caught me off guard.

“Ma’am, I have to check your bag.”

I didn’t move. I just looked around incredulously.

“But–but this is the library.”

“Ma’am, I have to check your bag,” he repeated.

I got angry. Visually angry. It was irrational when I think about it now, but at the time, my attitude was all “WTF, what about privacy and trust among the people?!”

ORaC couldn’t have cared less, of course. I could’ve walked in with my hair on fire and he probably still would’ve said, “Ma’am I need to check your bag” in his rent-a-cop monotone.

I debated walking out. But the cry for free wifi was calling, and my turning to leave would’ve made me look guilty. So I walked over to his table. I stood there.

“I need to look inside your bag, ma’am.”

I rolled my eyes and pushed my bookbag towards him.

“Open it.”

I unzipped the biggest compartment but didn’t peel back the opening. Then I looked up at him. He was staring at me as if he’d seen a hundred me’s already. As if a hundred people had walked in that morning and had the exact same reaction as me. It was the briefest of duels (and I was holding up the line), but I wanted to reinforce the ridiculousness of the whole charade. It was the only ammunition I had.

Finally, I peeled back the opening to my bookbag.

ORaC pulled a small, compact flashlight out of his pocket. It looked like something he found at the bottom of a box of Fruit Loops. Then he began the least interested, least thorough, most cursory inspection I’ve ever seen. In. My. Life.

I swear he did this just to piss me off.

I mean really, if you’re going to make me stop to let you check my bag, then damnit, check my bag. Don’t half-ass it. I could be a female suicide bomber!

Yeah, maybe something about my appearance said “free wifi seeker.” But he doesn’t really know, right? That’s why he has to check everyone, right? Right.

But he didn’t check. He just scanned his light across my bookbag’s opening and waved his hand for me to move on. I huffed one last huff and kept it moving. I walked up two flights of stairs. Found a little spot. Enjoyed the free wifi. It was great.

Two hours later, I packed up my stuff and headed out the same way I came in. At the room’s exit where I’d been wifi’ing it, a security guard I was paying no attention to called for me to come back. I looked around with a “who me?” look and she crooked her index finger for me to return.

“Ma’am, I need to check your bag,” she said, with a little more sass than was necessary.

“But I’m leaving. They did that on the way in.”

This ORaC didn’t bother repeating herself. She just looked at me and clicked her Fruit Loop flashlight on. I opened my bag in an exasperated fashion.

“Well? Can I leave now?”

She gave me the same wave of the hand that the first ORaC did.

By now, I couldn’t wait to leave this place. I felt like a criminal. A criminal who’d experienced bad customer service. So I hurried down those two flights of steps and my bookbag jiggled loudly all the way.

When I got to the first floor, I saw something that I hadn’t noticed when I arrived. There were two ORaCs at the door — one at the entrance and one at the exit.

“You’ve got to be kidding me,” I thought.

I looked at the new ORaC and when I realized he hadn’t noticed me yet, I fixed a hard stare at the door and picked up my pace.

“Ma’am, I need to check your bag.”

He might as well of asked me to have sex with his dog.

“Why? Why do you need to see my bag? I’ve been checked twice already. TWICE! This is ridiculous. This is the library!”

“I know where we are. Everybody has to–”

“I don’t wanna hear it. I can’t believe this.”

I put my bookbag on the table and tore it open, then asked, “Do you see anything? Anything?”

He looked at me.

I went on. “You sure? You sure you don’t wanna check this other compartment? You done? You sure now?!”

“Ma’am, if you don’t want to have your bag checked, don’t come to the library.”

Duly noted. Duly freakin’ noted.

About RtG

Rakia the Great, or RtG, is a publishing geek and sometimes literary snob. She's stumbling her way towards personal fulfillment and world domination by, oh, I dunno, writing this blog. Most days she's living her dream as a fancy schmancy editor. But not, like, today.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Really, New York Public Library?

  1. Anonymous says:

    This was hysterical. When I was running around trying to snatch up an internship I ended up working in a ‘newly developing’ corporate department. Let me tell you security was an issue way back then. I will not divulge when exactly way back occurs but know that it was before e-bay and way before everyone had a personal computer and a link to wikipedia stored in their favorites.
    It was like working in Saks Fifth Avenue: Dump all your ‘necessaries’ into clear plastic bag in locker room then get scanned on way in and out, no other personal items allowed on floor.

    And we are talking books here, Right?

  2. RtG says:

    Right, it’s books. My middle school library had a bar code system, so if you walked out with a book that you hadn’t check out, a big alarm went off. Why can’t the NYPL have something like this? It’d be a lot simpler.

  3. denise says:

    um…i can’t believe you have never been to the library. my cheap self is always there running up late fees and getting wi-fi.

    that particular library is depressing, the bathrooms are nasty, and there are homeless regulars on the 5th floor. i hate how they covered all the outlets so you can only plug in your laptop in the designated space, which never has an avaialable seat.

    do yourself a favor buy a starbucks black card it really saved my butt over the winter.

  4. RtG says:

    But Denise, the point is that it’s supposed to be this beautiful place in the city and (gripe alert!) my tax dollars have already paid for me to have the right to be there. The fact that security guards kept checking my bag like I was a common thief just made it worse. What is this, Dr. Jay’s on 125th street?

  5. Nadia says:

    That is funny. The library! They think someone would want to blow up the library. WOW!

  6. JB says:

    If I ever go to the NYPL, I’ll make sure NEVER to take a bag with me.

    I had to go to the Senate in the fall, and I made the mistake of not examining my bag before I went. Sooo…I had to toss a half-used bottle of Clinique Happy-to-Be and a fairly full bottle of Ouidad leave-in spray conditioner. I was less than pleased.

  7. T.Y. says:

    OK, I have to respond to this. First of all, this was absolutely hilarious! A sparkling account of comedic and totally unnecessary harassment. It seriously sounds like a Saturday Night Live skit.

    I hate being treated this way. So demoralizing. Whether it’s in Saks or somewhere like the free library it is soooo inappropriate. Even more annoying is the robotic way the harasser usually treats the harassee. It’s like, “Hellooo! You’re a human being, too! How would you like to be treated like this? If the shoe were on the other foot, you could see how glamorous this feels.”
    Honestly, some folks really go the extra mile in brandishing even an atom of authority.

  8. Jereme says:

    You were right! well, we learn something every day LOL

  9. Chrishawn says:

    Okay, this is disappointing to know about the New York Public library, especially since I really like going to libraries (as corny as it sounds-I like libraries).

    Note to self: Don’t go to New York Public library 😦

Leave a Reply

